Season of Mist, French independent label for Metal and Rock

News detail

| More

Wed, Mar 12 2014: FOLK COMPILATION

Latest release: "One And All, Together, For Home"

Release date: Fri, May 23 2014, US Tue, May 27 2014

As previously announced, Season of Mist will release a compilation entitled ‘One And All, Together, For Home’ on May 23rd (May 27th in North America). The 17-track, 2 CD set features international metal artists gathered by DRUDKH mastermind Roman Sayenko. See details below.



CD 1

  1. PRIMORDIAL - Dark Horse On The Wind
  2. DRUDKH - Забута Колискова (Forgotten Lullaby)
  3. HÄIVE - Ei Kuule Emo Minua
  4. KAMPFAR - En Hymne Til Urd
  5. WINTERFYLLETH - Abbots Bromley Horn Dance
  6. WINTERFYLLETH - John Barleycorn
  7. MONDVOLLAND - Montferland I (with FOLKCORN)
  8. MONDVOLLAND - Montferland II
  9. HIMINBJORG - Esprit De Brave

CD 2

  1. WINTERFYLLETH - The Three Ravens
  2. KAMPFAR - Bådnsull
  3. DRUDKH - Довбуш (Dovbush)
  4. MONDVOLLAND - Montferland III
  5. AVA INFERI - Ao Teu Lado
  6. HÄIVE - Ukon On Tulinen Turkki
  7. HÄIVE - Onpa Tietty Tietyssäni
  8. PRIMORDIAL - The Foggy Dew

"Dark Horse On The Wind" has received a stunning adaption by PRIMORDIAL (featuring Gareth Averill on cello/additional drones) and is now streaming via these official media partners:

Close-Up (SE)
Inferno (FI)
Loud (PT)
Metal Hammer (DE)
Metal Hammer (UK)
Noisey (US)
Pyro (NO)
Roadburn (NL)
Rockerilla (IT)
Rocking (GR)
VS-Webzine (FR)

Alan Averill Nemtheanga comments on "Dark Horse On The Wind": "Possibly the greatest piece of Irish 'folk' music at least I have ever heard. The original by Liam Weldon recorded in the 1970's is one of the most spine tingling and truly tragic stand alone vocal pieces that encapsulates Ireland's bloody and tragic history like nothing I've witnessed before. Recording it was daunting and if I have even risen to a minute % of the original and make people discover Weldon's work through breathing life into the song for a completely different 'scene', then my work is done and I can rest proud."

The eight participating bands are expressively linked in their artistic output to the culture and history of their respective countries of origin. Therefore they represent eight different regions of modern Europe: Ireland (PRIMORDIAL), Ukraine (DRUDKH), Finland (HÄIVE), Norway (KAMPFAR), England (WINTERFYLLETH), Netherlands (MONDVOLLAND), France (HIMINBJORG), and Portugal (AVA INFERI).

Yet they find common ground in the different musical traditions they explore. Each artist employs their own means to find and present their roots to the world. You will find interpretations of traditional songs, cover versions of folk artists or the use of themes and melodies from their musical heritage in original compositions.

In the words of a participating artist: "The idea behind this compilation is a coming together of like-minded artists from all across Europe in an attempt to rediscover the history and traditions of their respective areas of origin; through the medium of traditional music", explains Chris Naughton from WINTERFYLLETH. “Given that Europe has a particularly strong folk heritage all the bands contributing to this release are drawn from a broad range of countries that make up the continent; each with their own unique musical style & traditions to explore. One way that folk music has endured throughout the world's turbulent history is by people coming together and sharing the stories, tales and folklore of old; re-creating the melodies in a way that is relevant to them in the now. This compilation brings together eight artists, who have a strong historical interest and a pre-existing link to the music of their respective homelands."

‘One And All, Together, For Home’ will be released as a deluxe 2-disc Digipak limited to 2000 numbered copies. Pre-orders yours now!

  • 18-10-benighted-veritcal-banner
  • 18-10-beyond-creation-veritcal-banner
  • 18-10-craft-veritcal-banner
  • 18-10-festerday-veritcal-banner
  • 18-10-hate-eternal-veritcal-banner
Mp3h Dvdh Videoh Wallpaperh