FUNERAL MIST – New Signing – July 3, 2012

Posted on July 3, 2012

More information about Salvation

September 11th will also see the releases of two classics from Sweden’s FUNERAL MIST, namely “Devilry” and “Salvation”.

“Devilry” features not only the complete recording of the 1998 EP, including the originally vinyl-only “Hellspell 2” bonus song, but also the “Havoc” demo from 1996. The early days of FUNERAL MIST were placed under the sign of a ferocious and vicious Black Metal, yet always underlined by a sick sense for the unexpected. Song structures, melodies and vocal patterns, yes, even a drum solo, make the “Devilry” and “Havoc” sessions stand out then as much as today: FUNERAL MIST was born under the doomed star of unmistakable uniqueness.

  1. The Devil's Emissary
  2. Bringer of Terror
  3. Nightside Phantom
  4. Funeral Mist
  5. The God Supreme
  6. Hellspell 2
  7. Realm of Shades
  8. Hellspell
  9. Nightside Phantom [demo version]
  10. The Old Ones Grin

“Salvation” was recorded 2001 at the Necromorbus studio and is certainly one of the most genre-defining releases by producer (and, at the time, FUNERAL MIST drummer) Tore Stjerna. The sound replicates the radical essence of a record that was meant to push the boundaries of Black Metal, the limits of which is solely the unique and twisted vision of mastermind Arioch (also current frontman of Swedish Black Metal pioneers MARDUK under the name Mortuus). “Salvation” set new standards in terms of riffing, use of samples, musical violence, lyrical perversion – truth be told, in most aspects. A decade later it is still as revolutionary and challenging, proving that it is by all means a record of historical relevance.

  1. Agnus Dei
  2. Breathing Wounds
  3. Holy Poison
  4. Sun of Hope
  5. Perdition's Light
  6. Across the Qliphoth
  7. Realm of Plagues
  8. Circle of Eyes
  9. Bread to Stone
  10. In Manus Tuas

“Devilry” and “Salvation” are available for pre-order on Season of Mist’s e-shop.

View Funeral Mist