Season of Mist, French independent label for Metal and Rock

Shining (Black metal)




SHINING is more than just a band. In fact each release, every concert and interview becomes a bloody battleground, on which Niklas Kvarforth struggles with his inner demons. The frontman and only remaining original member has never been shy to let the world know about his mental afflictions, which seem to complement or even spark his outstanding talent as a composer and musician. His ninth album, 'IX - Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends' is another excellent example of Niklas' genius. Reaching back to their black metal roots, SHINING simultaneously melt eclectic influences from progressive rock, jazz, even pop and more into deeply emotional laments from the dark side of the soul. Niklas’ vocals come in an even greater variety of expressions which few would suspect in a singer coming from the extreme metal scene. Moments of pain and confusion turn into insane outbursts of anger. Despair shifts into melancholy and an eerie sense of timeless beauty permeates all. Lacking any tolerance for false tuning, technical flaws and lack of ambition, Niklas has literally beaten any weakness out of his band, which demonstrates its remarkable prowess far beyond any average on this record. Founded in 1996 by Kvarforth, SHINING self-released 'Submit to Self-Destruction' in 1998 and spawned the term "suicidal black metal" with this debut 7". A couple years after first full-length 'I - Within Deep Dark Chambers' (2000) and sophomore album 'II - Livets Ändhållplats' (2001) had cut deep marks into the underground scene, Niklas replaced his whole crew and started a continuous cycle of changing his line-up. With MAYHEM drummer Hellhammer on board, 'III - Angst' (2003) and 'IV - The Eerie Cold' (2005) began to gather major metal press attention. SHINING then focused on bringing their vision and often controversially received live performances to Europe. Yet Kvarforth's mental health led to cancelled tours, physical and psychological fights within the band, and finally a break-up. Not content to let things rest after the breakdown, the restless singer returned with new members and the massively successful album 'V – Halmstad' (2007). SHINING had reached headliner status and toured with big acts such as SATYRICON and MAYHEM. Several line-up changes later, the Swede once again entered studio and recorded two albums in one session. 'VI – Klagopsalmer' was released in 2009 and two years later 'VII - Född Förlorare' darkened the light of day. The band also received their first gold disc for the single 'Förtvivlan, Min Arvedel' in Sweden. After rotating more musicians in and out, SHINING returned with ‘Redefining Darkness’ (2012) and a less aggressive, yet more sinister sound. Before signing to Season of Mist, the band released the project '8 ½ – Feberdrömmar I Vaket Tillstånd', which featured six of Kvarforth's favourite vocalists. In August 2014, SHINING entered Andy LaRocque's Sonic Train Studios to record their ninth album. 'IX - Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends' is the sum of Niklas Kvarforth's musical evolution and experience so far. And while nobody expects the Swede to deliver a record to booze and sing along to, the charged word "art" enters the mind unbidden. This masterpiece should interest lovers of music far beyond the narrow confines of extreme metal. Plug your headphones in and find out for yourself!


Name Instrument
Niklas Kvarforth Vocals
Rainer Tuomikanto Drums
Christian Larsson Bass
Euge Valovirta Guitars
Peter Huss Guitars

Releases Season of Mist


IX - Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends

General information
: Mon, Apr 20 2015
: Tue, Apr 21 2015
: Suicidal Metal
: SOM350
: available


VI – Klagopsalmer

General information
: Tue, Feb 09 2010
: Black Metal
: SOM724
: US and Canada only

Tour dates

Date Country Town Venue Other information
Sat, Sep 12 2015 FR Paris Divan du Monde
Sun, Sep 13 2015 FR Grenoble Bifurk
Mon, Sep 14 2015 FR Nice Altherax
Wed, Sep 16 2015 FR Lille Péniche
Thu, Sep 17 2015 FR Strasbourg Laiterie
Fri, Sep 18 2015 FR Nantes Ferrailleur
Sat, Sep 19 2015 FR Toulouse Metronum
Fri, Sep 25 2015 SE Hultsfred Mörkaste Småland
Sat, Sep 26 2015 SE Malmö Moriska Paviljongen
Fri, Oct 16 2015 NL Venlo Grenswerk
Sat, Oct 17 2015 BE Hasselt Muziekodroom
Sun, Oct 18 2015 NL Hilversum Krachtstroom XL
Thu, Nov 05 2015 IT Roma Traffic Live
Fri, Nov 06 2015 IT Brescia Circolo Colony
Sat, Nov 07 2015 IT Bologna Alchemica Music Club
Thu, Nov 12 2015 DE München Backstage +Der Weg einer Freiheit +Imperium Dekadenz
Fri, Nov 13 2015 DE Stuttgart Keller Klub +Der Weg einer Freiheit +Imperium Dekadenz
Sat, Nov 14 2015 DE Essen Turock +Der Weg einer Freiheit +Imperium Dekadenz
Sun, Nov 15 2015 DE Köln Underground +Der Weg einer Freiheit +Imperium Dekadenz
Tue, Nov 17 2015 DE Wiesbaden Schlachthof +Der Weg einer Freiheit +Imperium Dekadenz
Wed, Nov 18 2015 DE Berlin Magnet +Der Weg einer Freiheit +Imperium Dekadenz
Thu, Nov 19 2015 DE Hamburg Logo +Der Weg einer Freiheit +Imperium Dekadenz
Thu, Nov 26 2015 NO Bergen Garage
Fri, Nov 27 2015 NO Oslo Pokalen
Thu, Dec 03 2015 ES Almassera, Valencia Sala Rock City
Fri, Dec 04 2015 ES Murcia Sala Garaje Beat Club
Sat, Dec 05 2015 ES Madrid Sala Caracol
Sun, Dec 06 2015 ES Barcelona Sala Boveda
Mon, Dec 07 2015 ES Bilbao Stage Live
Fri, Dec 11 2015 RU Moscow Club Volta
Sat, Dec 12 2015 RU St. Petersburg Club Phoenix
  • 15-06_ken-mode-success-vertical
  • 15-05-inquisition-nefarious-vertical
  • 15-05-inquisition-ominous-vertical
  • 15-06-shade-of-despair-monotony-fields-vertical
Mp3h Dvdh Videoh Wallpaperh