Season of Mist, French independent label for Metal and Rock

News detail

| More

Fri, Jul 24 2015: OBSIDIAN KINGDOM

Latest release: "Mantiis – An Agony in Fourteen Bites"

Release date: Fri, Oct 24 2014, US Tue, Oct 28 2014

OBSIDIAN KINGDOM have released a video portraying a side project of the experimental metal outfit. The clip shows the Catalans performing their "Drone Set" to be viewed here. The band furthermore announced going to studio and line-up changes.


"Drone Set" features Brunetto on "BCNmp7. Metal•lúrgies" and was recorded at Centre de Cultura Contemporània in Barcelona on the 4th of June 2015. Live visuals, video editing & directing by Jander and live sound, audio recording & editing by Jorge Mur.

The band comments: "Aside from our studio production, we combine our 'rock band' aspect with the 'OBSIDIAN KINGDOM DRONE SET' effort; an ephemeral live project focused on impromptu and sonic experimentation. Through active listening and an exclusively live approach, we amalgamate drone, noise, ambient music and video projections to display a unique and surrounding audiovisual live experience.

In these sessions, which sporadically take place in little venues or art galleries, the performers rethink their connection with their instruments, deepening their sonic possibilities through an unorthodox use, while supported by the heavy application of pedal effects. All of this is organically entwined with the work of a video artist, who arranges and screens video fragments from the other side of the stage, and becomes one more member of our avant-garde jam sessions."


On further news, OBSIDIAN KINGDOM are announcing a line-up change and will enter studio to record the follow-up to their debut album 'Mantiis' this summer.

The Catalans comment: "Our sophomore full-length is finally written. We will start recording at Orgone Studios in London with Jaime Gómez Arellano (PARADISE LOST, PRIMORDIAL, ULVER) as producer before the end of summer; and it will be out on Season of Mist in 2016. We just wanted you to know that we can hardly wait for you to experience our new songs. You will also spot a few different faces in our latest portrait, as recently pictured by the gifted photographer Taya Uddin (Terrorizer). We kindly ask you to give a warm welcome to our new, young and talented members: Seerborn Ape Tot on guitars and Om Rex Orale on bass. You will meet them both in person before soon. Enjoy the last days of summer."

OBSIDIAN KINGDOM are an independent music project founded in Barcelona in 2005. The Catalans have already released two video clips; one for the song "Fingers in Anguish" the other for the track "Ball-Room".

Zer0 Æmeour Íggdrasil: keyboards, vocals
Ojete Mordaza II: drums
Rider G Omega: guitars, vocals
Seerborn Ape Tot: guitars
Om Rex Orale: bass



  1. Not Yet Five
  2. Oncoming Dark
  3. Through The Glass
  4. Cinnamon Balls
  5. The Nurse
  6. Answers Revealing
  7. Last Of The Light
  8. Genteel To Mention
  9. Awake Until Dawn
  10. Haunts Of The Underworld
  11. Endless Wall
  12. Fingers In Anguish
  13. Ball-Room
  14. And Then It Was

The reissue of ‘Mantiis’ is available on the Season of Mist shop in various formats and bundles. Artwork and tracklist are shown above.

  • 18-12-cynic-vertical-banner
  • 18-12-mayhem-vertical-banner
  • 18-12-revenge-vertical-banner
  • 18-12-the-sacrifice-vertical-banner
Mp3h Dvdh Videoh Wallpaperh