Prog - France


noun [Nahuatl]
1 dream.

Introducing TEMIC—prog’s newest, most ambitious, and most adrenaline-fueled act. TEMIC melds the creative minds of keyboardist and sound designer Diego Tejeida (Devin Townsend, Mike Portnoy’s Shattered Fortress, ex-Haken), guitarist Eric Gillette (The Neal Morse Band, Mike Portnoy’s Shattered Fortress), drummer Simen Sandnes (SHINING, Arkentype), and vocalist Fredrik Klemp (Maraton, 22).

The origins of TEMIC date back to 2017, when Tejeida and Gillette toured the world as band members of Mike Portnoy’s Shattered Fortress. From the very first chords they exchanged, their musical chemistry both on and off stage was undeniable, leading them to discuss the prospect of starting a new band together. Unfortunately, conflicting tour and recording commitments forced them to turn their attention elsewhere for years—that is, until the world came to a standstill in 2020, and Tejeida called Gillette to ask a fateful question:

“Remember how we said we should make music together? Well, how about now?”

Thus, the first demos for what would later become TEMIC’s 2023 debut album, Terror Management Theory, began to emerge. Within a few weeks after that initial phone call, the musical vision of TEMIC had become clear: Let’s create progressive music that is heavily influenced by high-energy electronic music, but arranged and orchestrated for a 5-piece modern prog rock/metal band—where, at last, the pulse can be the focus, and the vocal melody can be king.

Eager to join forces with the very best bandmates, Tejeida and Gillette first summoned the rhythmic power of their friend and drummer Sandnes. With characteristic enthusiasm, Sandnes seized the opportunity, prepared to contribute his percussive prowess as the heartbeat of TEMIC. When it came time to find the singer that would carry TEMIC’s melodies to new heights, Sandnes recommended vocal powerhouse Klemp, whose emotive delivery and unmatched intensity left no doubt that he was destined to be the voice of TEMIC. Finally, to round out the rhythm section of Terror Management Theory, dynamic bassist Jacob Umansky (Intervals) was invited on board as a guest player, gracing the album with an unrivaled groove and a signature low-end sound.

Together, this mammoth lineup is TEMIC, a high-energy, electronic-inspired, modern melodic prog metal band for the next generation.

FFO: Devin Townsend, Gojira, Infected Mushroom, Leprous, Mastodon, Muse, Pain of Salvation, Periphery, Sleep Token, Tesseract


  • Frederik Bergersen : Vocals
  • Eric Gillette : Guitars + backing vocals
  • Simen Sandnes : Drums
  • Diego Tejeida : Keyboards + Sound Design
Posted on August 28, 2023

TEMIC formed when the rest of the world was grinding to a halt. Eric Gillette and Diego Tejeida had already toured the world together as members of Mike Portnoy’s Shattered Fortress, but it wasn’t until 2020 that they decided to start a super group with Arkentype drummer Simen Sandnes and Fredrik Klemp, who’s the lead vocalist for Maraton.

Posted on July 11, 2023

New prog metal sensation TEMIC (international band), with members of DEVIN TOWNSEND, THE NEAL MORSE BAND, SHINING and MARATON, have announced the first details of their debut album “Terror Management Theory”! The album will be released on November 17, 2023 via Season of Mist and a first track ‘Count Your Losses’ is now available in the form of a music video HERE. The link may be freely spread throughout your channels.

See all TEMIC news
Terror Management Theory
CD Digipack
Digital Download
Vinyl (Black)
Vinyl (White)
Vinyl (Crystal Clear)
Vinyl (Skull Gold)
Vinyl (Ash Grey)