ARKAN – Sofia – April 29, 2014

Posted on April 29, 2014

More information about Sofia

French Oriental metal act ARKAN is now premiering a new track of their forthcoming third full-length ‘Sofia’, out on May 23rd (May 27th in North America). The song entitled “Wingless Angels” is now streaming via the following official media partners:

Radio Metal (FR)
Legacy (DE)
Rock Overdose (GR)
Zero Tolerance (UK)

‘Sofia’ will be released on Digipak CD and is available for pre-order on Season of Mist’s e-shop (North American residents please click here). Here are the cover artwork and track list:

  1. Hayati
  2. My Reverence
  3. March of Sorrow
  4. Leaving Us
  5. Soiled Dreams
  6. Deafening Silence
  7. Endless Way
  8. Wingless Angel
  9. Beauty Asleep
  10. Scar of Sadness
  11. Cold Night's Dream
  12. Dark Epilogue

‘Sofia’, ARKAN’s third album, is based on a personal tragedy faced by one of the members of the French / North African band: the sudden loss of a life far too young. That deep personal crisis easily explains the change of spirit in ARKAN’s music, which occurred between 2011’s sophomore album ‘Salam’ (“Peace”) and ‘Sofia’. The band’s trademark whirlwind of Arabic percussion and crushing guitar riffing has audibly matured into a much more melancholic and subtle sound. There are still those magical moments of ancient oriental string instruments, but they blend in more organically than before. The dark warmth of Sarah Layssac’s vocals has deservedly gained more room, while Florent Jannier’s deep growls now rarely make an appearance in favour of more clean singing. Heartbreaking suffering has been turned into music. Yet instead of wailing in self-pity, beauty and hope are offered without forgetting the scars. ‘Sofia’ is a deeply heartfelt tribute that reveals more secrets of its detailed textures and meaningful melodies with each new spin. There are treasures to be found by those who listen well and with care…

View Arkan