PROFANATICA Announce New Album

Posted on June 28, 2023

More information about Crux Simplex

PROFANATICA have a reputation to uphold. They’ve been one of the nastiest bands in America since the early ’90s, when they were playing the backroom of a Chinese restaurant alongside Gorophobia, Immolation and Incantation. Led by drummer Paul Ledney, these heretics have spread sin and spewed bile since the dawn of black metal’s creation. Today, they’re returning from their crypt with a new album that’s so blasphemous, you just might lose your head.

‘Crux Simplex’ is something of a concept album. It takes aim at none other than Jesus Christ on the day of his crucifixion (talk about kicking someone when they’re down). Each song spits at a different station of the cross, a la Regan from The Excorcist, and “Take Up the Cross” is here to administer the first good tongue-lashing. The riff, which comes courtesy of Profanatica’s notorious Destroyer of Holy Hymen, slithers like a leviathan. And the way he hisses in your ear from behind his iron throne, you’d be forgiven for believing that Ledney was the devil himself.

Listen to “Take Up the Cross” HERE.

‘Crux Simplex’ is out on 22 September, 2023 via Season of Mist. Pre-save the album HERE. Pre-order it HERE.

  1. Condemned to Unholy Death
  2. Take Up the Cross
  3. The First Fall
  4. Meeting of a Whore
  5. Compelled by Romans
  6. Wipe the Fucking Face of Jesus
  7. The Second Fall
  8. Cunts of Jerusalem
  9. The Third Fall
  10. Division of Robes
View Profanatica