TEMIC Release Video for “Through The Sands of Time”

Posted on November 28, 2023

More information about Terror Management Theory

TEMIC are already living up to their billing as prog’s new supergroup. Their debut album, Terror Management Theory, just topped the charts in the Netherlands and reached #15 on iTunes Worldwide Metal chart.

Today, TEMIC are releasing a stylish and scenic new video for “Through the Sands of Time”, the sweeping 7-minute opener from Terror Management Theory. The song showcases the full range of the band’s superpowers: melodic cleans, djenty riffs, keys that swirl and sizzle amid grooving technical breakdowns, not one but two arpeggiated guitar solos. They’re only one album in, but TEMIC are proving they really are the full package.

Watch the video for “Through the Sands of Time”: https://youtu.be/IE4qHkOJxPI?si=JpjXgQQn2vYla1_v

“Our drummer, Simen Sandnes, produced this music video in Iceland, exploring a visually aesthetic interpretation of “Through the Sands of Time”, says TEMIC.

“The chorus encourages the listener to let go of their past, to ‘burn it all’ in order to ‘fly high’ and ‘breathe life’. This contrasts with the melancholic nature of the verses, which reflect on the past and question the present: ‘What is true?’ Sometimes, we spend so much time regretting and reassessing that we forget the hourglass of our lives is constantly running.

We hope you are all enjoying TMT. We are all absolutely astounded by the response we’ve received!”

Diego Tejeida and Eric Gilette first got the idea to start a band together when they were touring members of Mike Portnoy’s Shattered Fortress. Here are just some of the nice things that their fellow road dog had to say about Terror Management Theory.

“Musically, it falls somewhere between Leprous, Sleep Token, Haken, Dream Theatre & Pain of Salvation…amazing stuff, insane playing, check it out if you haven’t already!”

Their vision for TEMIC wasn’t exactly simple: synthesize their love for high-energy electronica and flashy riffs into a killer prog-metal hybrid. But after recruiting former soccer prodigy-turned-Zildjian-endorsed drummer Simen Sandnes (SHINING, Arkentype) to go along with the high-powered falsetto of Fredrik Bergersen (Maraton), together, the supergroup managed to connect all those puzzle pieces on their very first album.

“As the progressive metal scene witnesses a surge of new talent, this [album] places TEMIC in the discussion of the top new band releases of 2023”, – The Prog Report.

“Bursting with ideas and extraordinary individual performances, it sounds like the work of a living, breathing band” – Blabbermouth

“…technical without being suffocating…For anyone already invested in the genre, there is nothing here to not like” – Sonic Perspectives

“…a lavish progressive metal debut that stands out sharply in the crowd” – Distorted Sound

Order: https://redirect.season-of-mist.com/Temic
Stream: https://orcd.co/tmtpresave

  1. TMT
  2. Through the Sands of Time
  3. Falling Away
  4. Count Your Losses
  5. Skeletons
  6. Acts of Violence
  7. Friendly Fire
  8. Paradigm
  9. Once More
  10. Mothallah