Posted on June 1, 2011

More information about Illud Divinum Insanus

MORBID ANGEL’s new album “Illud Divinum Insanus” will be out in less than a week! Needless to say this release is highly anticipated by fans, journalists and musicians alike, so we sent the album to some of the famous names in Metal and asked them what they thought of the seminally influential Extreme Metal act’s new opus. Here goes:

“The new Morbid Angel album will cause 3rd World War. After June 7th, the extreme metal scene is never gonna be the same again… And I already can’t wait the moment I’ll be sitting on my sofa listening to “Illus Divinum Insanus” while the world burns! Ha!” – Nergal, BEHEMOTH

“No other band in the entire Extreme Metal genre but Morbid Angel would have ever dared to make ‘Illud Divinum Insanus’. There are going to be quite a few unimaginative underground purists who think they know better what kind of album Morbid Angel should or should not be putting out, but with ‘Illud Divinum Insanus’ Trey and David prove that they answer to no one but themselves. It is an incredibly well written, performed, recorded and produced record.” – Karl Sanders, NILE

“One of the best death metal releases since their last album with Vincent. I’m not too much into the techno bits but I am a dude who will appreciate and respect bands doing new things, progressing… So it’s all good. Vincent’s vocals of course are still as good as they come. And the riffs are definitely there, Trey always delivers. New drummer is killer too!” – Mikael Akerfeldt, OPETH

“The ultimate voice of death metal is back, as hellish as ever!” – Mikael Stanne, DARK TRANQUILLITY

“Glad to see Morbid Angel are back! We had our share of criticism when we first incorporated electronic elements in our sound and we know it takes courage and passion to follow one’s own stream of inspiration. This time the guitar work is more impressive than ever and those 11 songs are a real ‘tour de force’. With this new album they’re not afraid to take the hit from the more conservative audience but that’s what it means to be extreme!” – Vorph, SAMAEL

“Innovation, wits and a feral ‘no compromise’ attitude is what brands the greatest of bands. ‘Illud Divinum Insanus’ is all that and a leap further! Hail Morbid Angel!” – Rune “Blasphemer” Eriksen, AVA INFERI, ex MAYHEM

“Morbid Angel still prove they can continue their legacy and deliver their madness with a skill so elite. The metal scene has no choice but to give back the crown to the undisputable kings of death metal! MORBID! MORBID! MORBID!” – Anders ‘Blakkheim’ Nyström, KATATONIA

“This is Morbid Angel the way I’ve always loved them: unpredictable, forward-thinking, different and extreme. In one word: unique. If you hoped for a dull repeat of the past, look elsewhere. If you want something modern and daring, ‘Illud Divinum Insanus’ is the masterpiece only Morbid Angel could dream up. Kick-ass!” – Dirk Verbeuren, SOILWORK

“I’d say it was definitely worth the wait. M.A. do their own thing as always and they are good at it. Vincent growls like a horny moose (meant in a positive way) Trey’s weird riffing and songwriting is there and Tim Yeung is simply amazing. Maybe a couple of less appealing experimental tracks but over all true, groovy, crushing, heavy and fast as it should be. Rock on!” – Ola Lindgren, GRAVE

  1. Omni Potens
  2. Too Extreme!
  3. Existo Vulgoré
  4. Blades for Baal
  5. I Am Morbid
  6. 10 More Dead
  7. Destructos VS the Earth / Attack
  8. Nevermore
  9. Beauty Meets Beast
  10. Radikult
  11. Profundis - Mea Culpa

As previously announced, Dean Guitars offer you the chance to win David Vincent’s signature bass! The Dean Demonator 4 is the quintessential metal bass. Designed by Mr. Vincent himself, it is as ferocious and fearless as the man who designed it. Be forewarned, if you want to shake the heavens and raise unholy hell with a bass guitar the Dean Demonator 4 is the only true weapon of choice.

Click here to enter the competition!

All formats of “Illud Divinum Insanus”, including the foldout wooden triptych box and the “Nevermore” 7″ single are available on Season of Mist’s e-shop. The digital version can be pre-ordered on iTunes or Amazon.

View Morbid Angel