Season of Mist, French independent label for Metal and Rock

Crippled Black Phoenix (Macabre Rock)


| More

Latest news: Thu, Mar 21 2019, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX

Latest release: "Great Escape"

Release date: Fri, Sep 14 2018, US Fri, Sep 14 2018

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX have kicked off their earlier announced European tour. The tour has commenced in the UK and will end at the Roadburn Festival in the Netherlands, a few weeks later. The band will be supported by SOFT KILL and FOTOCRIME. Find the full list of tour dates below.


21 Mar 19 London (UK) The Underworld
22 Mar 19 Brighton (UK) Pattern
23 Mar 19 Osnabrück (DE) Bastard Club
24 Mar 19 Hamburg (DE) Knust
25 Mar 19 Aarhus (DK) Voxhall
26 Mar 19 Stockholm (SE) Kraken
27 Mar 19 Copenhagen (DK) Vega
28 Mar 19 Berlin (DE) BiNuu
29 Mar 19 Dresden (DE) Scheune
30 Mar 19 Prague (CZ) Underdogs
01 Apr 19 Afschaffenburg (DE) Colossaal
02 Apr 19 Martigny (CH) Caves du Manoir
03 Apr 19 Vaureal (FR) Le Forum
04 Apr 19 Strasbourg (FR) La Laiterie
05 Apr 19 Nimes (FR) La Paloma
06 Apr 19 Luzern (CH) Schüür
07 Apr 19 Villingen Schwenningen (DE) Klosterhof
08 Apr 19 Vienna (AT) Arena
09 Apr 19 Munich (DE) Feierwerk
10 Apr 19 Cologne (DE) Luxor
11 Apr 19 Tilburg (NL) Roadburn Festival 2019

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX are touring in support of their full length 'Great Escape' which was released on September 14, 2018. The record is still available in the Season of Mist shop.

Join CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX on their official Facebook page.



'Great Escape', this beautiful touch of darkness comes hardly as a surprise, when taking into account that CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX mastermind Justin Greaves has previously gone public about his personal fight against severe depression. Similar dark themes and traits have already been a hallmark of the UK rockers' latest full-length, 'Bronze' (2016).

CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX have always confounded critics trying to pin their style down ever since founder Justin Greaves recorded his first ideas in 2004 – which earned them tagging attempts ranging from "stoner prog" through "freak folk" to "psychedelic doom". Despite the wide range of musical leanings within their albums, there are a unifying dark streak and somber melancholy running through the songs. Greaves had already made himself a name as drummer for IRON MONKEY and ELECTRIC WIZARD among others. When the multi-instrumentalist finally decided to stand on his own musical feet, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX was born. This involves a changing cast of musicians and live set-ups which mirrored the ever-ongoing evolution of the band, and the fact that the songs were mostly not composed with a live performance on mind.

Between 2007 and 2014, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX released a string of five critically highly acclaimed studio albums – namely 'A Love of Shared Disasters' (2007), 'The Resurrectionists' (2009), 'Night Raider' (2009), '(Mankind) The Crafty Ape' (2012), and 'White Light Generator' (2014). This was complemented by EPs 'I, Vigilante' (2010), 'No Sadness or Farewell' (2012), and 'Oh' Ech-oes' (2015), the live recording 'Live Poznan' (2013), and the '200 Tons of Bad Luck' compilation (2009). Their 'New Dark Age Tour EP 2015 A.D.' was the band's first release on Season of Mist and came with an extensive homage to PINK FLOYD. The strong influence of the UK rock giants could also be felt on 'Bronze' (2016), yet while CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX never denied their roots, this outstanding act has long created their own sonic cosmos.

With last year’s 'Horrific Honorifics' offering, the band elegantly payed tribute to great artists and classic songs while making those tracks their own in sound and spirit without compromising the integrity of the original masterpieces.

Now with 'Great Escape', CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX take you on their new adventure and let you explore their sonic cosmos even further, and where all its emotions are reflected on to this earth. From the angry “Rain Black”, to the unnerving “Madman” and forgiving “Nebulas”, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX arise once more.


Name Instrument
Justin Greaves drums, guitars, samples, saw, percussion
Daniel Änghede vocals
Belinda Kordic vocals, percussion
Mark Furnevall synthesizer, hammond
Helen Stanley grand piano, synthesiser, backing vocals, trumpet
Jonas Stålhammar guitar
Ben Wilsker drums
Tom Greenway bass

Releases Season of Mist


Great Escape

General information
: Fri, Sep 14 2018
: Fri, Sep 14 2018
: Dark Rock
: SOM491
: available


Horrific Honorifics

General information
: Fri, Mar 09 2018
: Fri, Mar 09 2018
: Dark Rock
: SOM434
: available



General information
: Fri, Nov 04 2016
: Fri, Nov 04 2016
: Macabre Rock
: SOM399
: available


New Dark Age Tour EP 2015 A.D.

General information
: Fri, Nov 27 2015
: Fri, Nov 27 2015
: Macabre Rock
: SOM375
: available




  • 19-04-1349-vertical-banner
  • 19-04-drudkh-vertical-banner
  • 19-04-numenorean-vertical-banner
Mp3h Dvdh Videoh Wallpaperh